Monday, 2 June 2008
Periods B and C have their semester exams. See Semester Exam Preparation.

PLEASE NOTE: All posting for Quarter Four ends at Midnight on Friday, May 30.


Thursday, 29 May 2008
Come to class prepared to deleiver your poem presentation. Poems can be found on the Texts page, under the poet's name.

Wednesday, 28 May 2008
Finish and type your Cather in the Rye Alphabet.

Tuesday, 27 May 2008
1) Find and type ten statements (with page numbers) by Holden that could be called "wise."
2) For each statement, identify the theme, topic, or idea being expressed.
3) For each statement, write at least one sentence that explains what makes each so "wise."


Friday, 23 May 2008
Read and respond to The Catcher in the Rye, chapters 25-26.

Thursday, 22 May 2008
Read and respond to The Catcher in the Rye, chapters 22-24.

Wednesday, 21 May 2008
Read and respond to The Catcher in the Rye, chapters 20-21.

Tuesday, 20 May 2008
Read and respond to The Catcher in the Rye, chapter 19.

Monday, 19 May 2008
Read and respond to The Catcher in the Rye, chapters 16-18.

Friday, 16 May 2008
Read and respond to The Catcher in the Rye, chapters 13-15. Also respond to any of the poetry by William Carlos Williams.

Wednesday, 14 May 2008
Read and respond to The Catcher in the Rye, chapter 12.
PLEASE NOTE:
  • The A-Qualification Deadline (35 posts) is midnight on Friday, 16 May.
  • The Gatsby forum will also close at that time.

Tuesday, 13 May 2008
Read and respond to The Catcher in the Rye, chapters 10 - 11.

Monday, 12 May 2008
Read and respond to The Catcher in the Rye, chapters 5 - 9.

Friday, 9 May 2008
Read and respond to The Catcher in the Rye, chapters 1 - 4.

Wednesday, 7 May 2008
Read and respond to A Worn Path. Acquire The Catcher in the Rye by this Thursday.

Tuesday, 6 May 2008
Compose a paragraph in which the sentences have the same grammatical structure as the first paragraph of In Another Country, but use a different subject matter. For example, the first sentence reads: In the fall the war was always there, but we did not go to it any more. Your sentence should go something like: In the blank the blank was blank blank, but blank did not blank blank blank blank blank.

Acquire The Catcher in the Rye by this Thursday.


Monday, 5 May 2008
Compose a letter to one of the characters in The Great Gatsby in which you 1) identify and thoroughly describe the most significant problem this character has, and 2) offer some good advice to him or her. In your letter assume that all of the events of the novel have already occurred. Please type at least one very full page.

Thursday, 1 May 2008
Period B: type up your Alphabet of The Great Gatsby. Period C will focus on this in class. Remember that the important thing is to be Interesting and Insightful—not Boring and Obvious.

Wednesday, 30 April 2008
With your partner, begin to accumulate ideas for your Alphabet of The Great Gatsby. Period C will focus on this on Thursday. Remember that the important thing is to be Interesting and Insightful—not Boring and Obvious.

Tuesday, 29 April 2008
Read and respond through the end of Chapter 9 of The Great Gatsby.

Monday, 28 April 2008
Read and respond through the end of Chapter 8 of The Great Gatsby.

Thursday, 24 April 2008
Read and respond through the end of Chapter 7 of The Great Gatsby.

Wednesday, 23 April 2008
Read and respond through page 130 (to "... she never loved anyone but me!") of Chapter 7 of The Great Gatsby.

Tuesday, 22 April 2008
Read and respond through the end of Chapter 6 of The Great Gatsby.

Monday, 21 April 2008
Read and respond through the end of Chapter 5 of The Great Gatsby.

Friday, 18 April 2008
Read and respond through page 74 (up to "I turned toward Mr. Gatsby, but he was no longer there.") of Chapter 4 of The Great Gatsby.

Thursday, 17 April 2008
Read and respond through the rest of Chapter 3 of The Great Gatsby.

Wednesday, 16 April 2008
Read and respond through the first ten pages (39-49) of Chapter 3 of The Great Gatsby.

Tuesday, 15 April 2008
Read and respond through Chapter 2 of The Great Gatsby.

Friday, 11 April 2008
Read and respond to Chapter 1 of The Great Gatsby to page 16, through the paragraph ending with "for the police."

Thursday, 10 April 2008
Bring at least the first chapter of The Great Gatsby to class.

Wednesday, 9 April 2008
Students should rewrite and type their letters by Aunt Georgiana (optional for period C). Bring to class a copy of The Great Gatsby.

Tuesday, 8 April 2008
Concerning the story A Wagner Matinee, students are to compose and type a letter written from Aunt Georgiana to EITHER her husband Howard (back in Nebraska) OR her nephew Clark (back in Boston). The letter should contain:

1) a detailed description of her trip to Boston
2) that also expresses how she felt about it ...
3) along with an explanation of what she is going to do now.


Monday, 7 April 2008
Read and respond to the story A Wagner Matinee. Please acquire and bring to class on Wednesday, 9 April, the novel The Great Gatsby.

Thursday, 3 April 2008
Read and respond to The Story of an Hour by Kate Chopin.

Wednesday, 2 April 2008
Read and respond to the second half of To Build a Fire. If you are looking for more to post on in Mark Twain 4, check out The selections from Eve's and Adam's Diaries.

  • PLEASE NOTE: The Mark Twain 4 forum will be closing some time on Saturday, April 8. Don't wait until the last minute, because you don't know when that will be on Saturday. I can close it at any time on that day.- brtom brtom

Tuesday, 1 April 2008
Read and respond to the first half of To Build a Fire.

Thursday, 20 March 2008
Read and respond to Chapter Thirty-One of Huckleberry Finn. Remember to post in the Discussion area of the Mark Twain 4 forum.

Wednesday, 19 March 2008
Read and respond to Chapter Twenty-Three of Huckleberry Finn. Remember to post in the Discussion area of the Mark Twain 4 forum.

Tuesday, 18 March 2008
Read and respond to Chapter Fifteen of Huckleberry Finn. Remember to post in the Discussion area of the Mark Twain 4 forum.

Monday, 17 March 2008
Read and respond to Chapter One of Huckleberry Finn. Remember to post in the Discussion area of the Mark Twain 4 forum.



End of Quarter Three
Thursday, 13 March 2008
A very fine draft of your 5-paragraph essay is due. Be sure to have included at east one quotation from an external source (see links below in Wednesday's assignment.

Wednesday, 12 March 2008
Post as needed. Comment on your Revision Group's 5-paragraph essays. Remember to include an MLA-style quotation and citation in your essay. For proper MLA form see HERE for internet sources and HERE for paper sources. For parenthetical citation within your essay, see HERE

Tuesday, 11 March 2008

Read and respond to "The Celebrated Jumping Frog of Calaveras County" (581). Please be sure you have added your 5-paragraph essay to the wiki and that you have separated all of your sentences for your revision group members to read. Also, remember to add one quotation from your outside source and use proper MLA documentation for it (parenthetical citation within the text and a Work Cited element at the end of the essay).

  • PLEASE NOTE: The POSTING DEADLINE for Quarter 3 is next Thursday, 13 March. Please POST early and often.

Monday, 10 March 2008
  • Once you have posted your 5-paragraph essay to the wiki, please separate each sentence with a double space and mark the end of each paragraph with a capital P, See here and here for example of how this should look.
  • Then go to the essays written by members of your revision group. There should be a link on each person's individual student page. Please read each sentence of each group member's essay; and beneath the incorrect or unclear sentences that you find, please make suggestions for correction or improvement. Put each of your comments in bold style and sign it with four tildes.

Friday, 7 March 2008
Read and respond to 572-580. Finish a complete draft of your 5-paragraph essay.

Wednesday, 5 March 2008
Using the class handout as a guide, compose the introductory paragraph for your essay. Be sure to include a thesis that identifies the three main issues related to your topic. Then post your paragraph to the wiki. Near the top of your own student page, create a new link. Call this link What Adults Dont Get username (your 3-letter i.d.). Save and click on the link - it will bring up a completely new page. Put your first paragraph on that new page.

Tuesday, 4 March 2008
Find and bring to class at least one print source that supports your ideas in your essay-in-progress "What Adults Don't Get About ..." Continue to respond to Civil War texts found on pages 541, 554, 558, and 559.

Friday, 29 February 2008
Read and respond to all parts of An Occurrence at Owl Creek Bridge.

  • PLEASE NOTE: If you are among those who have created links to new topics ONLY from your own Student Page and NOT from the Forum page, please remember to place links to those topics on the appropriate Forum page within the next few days or over the weekend.

Thursday, 28 February 2008
Read and respond to at least Parts I and II of An Occurrence at Owl Creek Bridge.

  • PLEASE NOTE: Thursday's A-qualification minimum has been changed from 35 credited posts to 30.

Wednesday, 27 February 2008
Read and respond to Willie Has Gone to the War and An Episode of War.

Tuesday, 26 February 2008
Read in the online textbook page 474 through 476, just the sections on the Civil War.
Revise and type the next draft of your Emily Dickinson poem. You will turn it in along with the first draft and the in-class feedback page.

Monday, 25 February 2008
Compose and type a good first draft of your poem in the style of Emily Dickinson. Continue reading and posting about any of the Dickinson poems we are reading.

Wednesday, 20 February 2008
Using the process you were shown in class on Tuesday, read, examine, and explain either 566 ("A Dying Tiger—Moaned for drink") or 986 ("A narrow Fellow in the Grass"). One full page, typed.

Tuesday, 19 February 2008
Read and respond to the Emily Dickinson poems on the handout.

Friday, 15 February 2008
Compose and type a one (full) page explanation of your given Dickinson poem.

Tuesday, 5 February 2008
Read and respond to this passage from Thoreau's essay "Civil Disobedience". What is Thoreau's attitude toward government? Does it relate to your own attitude at all?

Friday, 1 February 2008
Read and respond to this passage from Thoreau's Walden. Click here. Post your response to Where I Lived or create a new topic under Emerson and Thoreau Topics.

Thursday, 31 January 2008
Read and respond to this passage from Thoreau's Walden. Click here. Post your response to Where I Lived or create a new topic under Emerson and Thoreau Topics.

Wednesday, 30 January 2008
Choose one of your "bumper sticker" statements and tell the story of a time when you lived up to (or failed to live up to) that idea. Of course, please type.

Tuesday, 29 January 2008
Read and respond to the selection from Emerson's "Self-Reliance." Find and write down five "bumper stickers" (short, thought-provoking statements) from both "Nature" and "Self-Reliance". Bring them to class.

Monday, 28 January 2008
Complete, type and proofread your 25-line poem in the style of Walt Whitman.

Friday, 25 January 2008
Read and respond to the selection from Emerson's Nature.

Wednesday, 23 January 2008
Read your Independent Study Project book and come prepared to be accountable for it.

Friday, 18 January 2008
Read and respond to Whitman's "When Lilacs Last in the Dooryard Bloom'd" and "O Captain! My Captain!". Both of these poems are Whitman's response to the assassination of Abraham Lincoln.

Thursday, 17 January 2008
Each group should post and comment on the passage they will be performing. See instructions on the home page.

Wednesday, 16 January 2008
Compose one full page in which you try to answer "What was Whitman trying to do in the poem your group read today?"

Friday, 11 January 2008
Read and respond to Whitman's "I Sing the Body Electric."

Thursday, 10 January 2008
Read and respond to Whitman's "Starting from Paumanok."

Wednesday, 9 January 2008
Acquire and bring to class on Wednesday: Selected Poems by Walt Whitman.

Monday, 7 January 2008
Read a short poem by Walt Whitman and post your response to it in the Walt Whitman forum.


Semester I Assignments

This page was last revised by brtom on May 30, 2008 8:43 am.